Previous Topic: Find and Notify the Participants

Next Topic: Workflow Server Completes the Activity


Accept and Perform the Approval Task

Once participants are found, the activity cannot be completed until one participant accepts the approval task and either approves or rejects the task under workflow control.

A participant accepts an approval task by clicking the work item name in the Workflow Activity Console, and then clicking Reserve Item. (Reserving an item removes it from the work lists of other approvers.)

Once a participant accepts an approval task, he commits to making the approval or rejection decision for the task under workflow control. And, since multiple participants cannot accept the same approval task, the approval task is removed from the work lists of other participants.

After a participant accepts an approval task, an approval screen appears, in which the participant can take one of these actions:

Additionally, the participant can update one or more modifiable fields, if any, on the approval screen. You can make fields on this screen modifiable when you create the task.

After the participant approves or rejects the task under workflow control, the activity is complete, and the workflow process can continue along the path determined by the outcome of the activity, as described in the next section.